The Board

Terry Moran AC


Terry Moran AC was appointed Chairman of the Authority in September 2011. He has had a distinguished career in the public sector, culminating in his appointment as Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, the most senior position in the Australian Public Service, where he served from 2008 to 2011. Prior to that he was Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet for the State of Victoria.

Mr Moran was responsible for leading the work of the Department on national security and international policy; environment, industry and economic policy; social policy and reforms negotiated by the Council of Australian Governments; and coordination of government administration, including Cabinet support.

During his time in the Victorian Public Service he played a major role in founding and achieving financing for five new cultural, public policy and educational institutions which have come to make an important contribution to Australia's cultural life and higher education.

Mr Moran is a Senior Adviser with the Boston Consulting Group, Chair of the Melbourne Theatre Company and the Centre for Policy Development and is a Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and the Menzies Foundation.

Craig van der Laan

Chief Executive Officer

Craig van der Laan was appointed as Acting Chief Executive Officer of the Barangaroo Delivery Authority in August 2014 and confirmed as Chief Executive on 1 July 2015.

He is a senior executive and business leader with an extensive international career in the private sector working with large public companies in operational, functional, project leadership and special advisory roles, including the leadership of large and complex M&A transactions, restructurings and special projects.

Prior to joining the Authority, Mr van der Laan was Global Head of Mergers & Acquisitions for the Brambles Group, President of Brambles' CHEP logistics/network business across China, India, Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand, as well as being Brambles’ Group General Counsel and Group Company Secretary for many years. 

Mr van der Laan has also held senior executive and advisory roles with the Westfield Holdings Limited Group, Transurban Group, Leighton Holdings Group, Lendlease Corporation and Foster’s Group.

Christine Covington

Christine Covington was appointed to the Board on 14 July 2014.

She is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW with more than 30 years’ experience in property, planning and environmental law. Ms Covington is currently the National Practice Group Leader of the Environment and Planning Group at law firm, Corrs Chambers Westgarth.

Ms Covington has served as a NSW Government appointee to the Central Sydney Planning Committee and has experience in working with local government and on community engagement.  She has acted on more than 30 voluntary planning agreements and has extensive experience in the NSW land and Environment Court and the Supreme Court in planning appeals and environmental prosecutions. In her property practice, Ms Covington deals with sales and purchases of land, project delivery agreements, leasing, easements, covenants and restrictions. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald was appointed to the Board on 4 July 2011. He has extensive experience in governance, strategy development and infrastructure delivery. Over recent years he was a specialist adviser to KPMG, and the Interim CEO of Infrastructure Australia, leading the organisation through substantial change following amendment of the Act and the production of the Australian Infrastructure Audit.

Mr Fitzgerald is Chairman of Evolution Rail Pty Ltd [Plenary Group], AssetCo Management Pty Ltd (an IFM subsidiary) and Transport Canberra Light Rail. He is also is a Director on the Board of the Victorian Funds Management Corporation. He was previously a Director of the Port of Melbourne Corporation and Chair of the NSW Government Steering Committee for the Sydney International Convention, Exhibition and Entertainment Precinct project.

He has served as the Deputy Secretary, Commercial Division, at the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance, where he was responsible for the provision of strategic commercial, financial and risk management advice to the Victorian Government.  He led the development of Victoria's PPP policy, Partnerships Victoria and chaired the Infrastructure Working Group of Council of Australian Governments which created Infrastructure Australia’s National PPP Policy. Prior to joining the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance in 2000, Mr Fitzgerald had had a career in investment banking.

He holds a Master of Public Infrastructure (Research) from the University of Melbourne, and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Institute of Public Administration Australia (Victoria).

Peter Young AM

Peter Young AM was appointed to the Board on 1 March 2014. He is Chairman of Standard Life Investments Limited in Australia and New Zealand. He is also a member of the Chairman’s Panel for the Great Barrier Reef Foundation and a member of the Chairman’s Council for the Australian Chamber Orchestra.

Mr Young was Chairman of Barclays Australia from 2012 to February 2016, a Senior Advisor at the Royal Bank of Scotland (formerly ABN AMRO) from 2006 to 2012, and Chairman of Investment Banking at ABN AMRO Australia and New Zealand from 2003 to 2006.

He has also served as Chairman of the Queensland Investment Corporation (QIC); Chairman of the Transfield Services Infrastructure Fund; and Chairman of the Board of the Australian Federal Government-owned Export Finance and Insurance Corporation (EFIC). He is a former Director of the Sydney Theatre Company.

Mr Young is a recipient of the Centenary Medal and in 2008 was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for his services to business and commerce, particularly in the areas of finance and investment, and to cultural and environmental organisations.